• ARRBConf2018
    28th International ARRB Conference | 29 April - 2 May 2018
  • Community
    Inspiring. Connecting. Delivering.
  • Online training
    Online training, made easy.
  • Conference Dinner 2016
    Providing opportunities to connect with peers.
  • Workshop training
    Workshop training that is shaping the transport future.
28th International ARRB Conference 2018 | 29 April - 2 May


Introducing the brilliant researchers making ground-breaking impact on the roads and transport sector

Written by : Australian Road Research Board

On the 21 July 2017 at the Sea Life Melbourne Aquarium we are gathering to celebrate the best of the best of our industry. Finalists are:

Lifetime Research, Development & Implementation Award Category

•    Associate Professor Stuart Newstead, Deputy Director of Monash University Accident Research Centre
•    Dr Barry Watson, Global Road Safety Consultant & Adjunct Professor at CARRS-Q
•    Professor David Hensher, Professor of Management at the University of Sydney Business School and Founding Director of the Institute of Transport and Logistics Studies
•    Dr Rahmi Akcelik, Director of Akcelik & Associates Pty Ltd (trading as SIDRA SOLUTIONS)
•    Dr Ahmad Shayan, Chief Research Scientist (Concrete Materials) at ARRB
•    Geoff Jameson, Chief Research Scientist (Pavement Technology) at ARRB

Implementing Agency Applied Research Award Category

•    Simon Harrison (Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads - QDTMR) for the High Risk Roads process, initiated by QDTMR
•    Gerhard van Blerk (New Zealand Transport Agency - NZTA) for the ‘Hi-Lab” construction technique, initiated by NZTA
•    Dr Michael Moffatt (ARRB) for investigating the Influence of multiple axles on pavement design, initiated by Austroads

Research Impact Award

•    John Catchpole (ARRB) for ‘Evaluation of the Victorian Enhanced Graduated Licensing System (GLS)’
•    Professor Graham Currie & Dr Alexa Delbosc (Monash Institute of Transport Studies) for ‘A Global Shift in Public Transport Revenue Compliance Using Cross Disciplinary Research in engineering, Psychology and Operations’
•    Dr Sara Moridpour (RMIT University) for ‘Traffic Management: Signal Coordination vs Heavy Vehicle Restriction’
•    Dr Robert Urquhart (ARRB) for 'Bituminous Binder properties and resolution to the concerns on segregation-susceptible binders'
•    Dr Didier Bodin (ARRB) & Graeme Newman (VicRoads) for 'application of the wheel tracker to determine the suitability of marginal granular materials for VicRoads’ application'

New Research Talent Award

Female finalists:
•    Dr Farhana Naznin, Research Fellow at Monash University: Institute of Transport Studies
•    Melissa Dias, Engineer (Pavements & Surfacings) at ARRB
•    Phuong Chau, Graduate Engineer (Safe Systems) at ARRB
Male finalists:
•    Dr Reza Mohajerpoor, Engineer (Network Operations & Management) at ARRB
•    Arooran Sounthararajah, PhD Candidate at Monash University - Dept of Civil Engineering
•    Andrew Beecroft, Professional Engineer (Pavement Technology) at ARRB

Knowledge Transfer Commitment Award

This award category was open to ARRB only in 2017
•    Paul Hillier, National Technical Leader (Incident Investigations & Reviews) at ARRB
•    Jerome Carslake, Manager of National Road Safety Partnership Program (NRSPP) at ARRB
•    Jon Roberts, Principal Research Engineer (Asset Management) at ARRB

If you’re as intrigued as we are to know the winners, make sure you book your tickets today - only limited places still available.

Click here to reserve your seat today

Subscribe to Email Updates

Topics : ARRB News