{% set baseFontFamily = "Open Sans" %} /* Add the font family you wish to use. You may need to import it above. */

{% set headerFontFamily = "Open Sans" %} /* This affects only headers on the site. Add the font family you wish to use. You may need to import it above. */

{% set textColor = "#565656" %} /* This sets the universal color of dark text on the site */

{% set pageCenter = "1100px" %} /* This sets the width of the website */

{% set headerType = "fixed" %} /* To make this a fixed header, change the value to "fixed" - otherwise, set it to "static" */

{% set lightGreyColor = "#f7f7f7" %} /* This affects all grey background sections */

{% set baseFontWeight = "normal" %} /* More than likely, you will use one of these values (higher = bolder): 300, 400, 700, 900 */

{% set headerFontWeight = "normal" %} /* For Headers; More than likely, you will use one of these values (higher = bolder): 300, 400, 700, 900 */

{% set buttonRadius = '40px' %} /* "0" for square edges, "10px" for rounded edges, "40px" for pill shape; This will change all buttons */

After you have updated your stylesheet, make sure you turn this module off

News Web Banner

NTC Deputy Chairman inducted into the ARRB Hall of Fame

by Australian Road Research Board on June 15, 2011

National Transport Commission (NTC) Deputy Chairman Ian Johnston AM has been inducted into the first Australian Road Research Board (ARRB) Hall of Fame, recognising his significant and sustained contribution to ARRB and the transport industry.

NTC Chief Executive, Nick Dimopoulos, congratulated Professor Johnston on his inaugural membership of the ARRB Hall of Fame.

“Ian has been an asset to the NTC since his appointment as a Commissioner in 2008. His wide-ranging experience within the transport industry has been vital in helping shape many of our reforms,” Mr Dimopoulos said.

Professor Johnston’s career spans all modes of transport, where he has worked in various roles including researcher, policy analyst, program administrator, senior executive and nonexecutive board member.

His particular passion lies in road and transport safety issues and their role in societies, governments and organisations.

Professor Johnston joined ARRB in 1979 as one of three chief scientists leading the organisation’s research into human factors and road safety.

His most profound achievement with ARRB was convincing its Board to fund research into the effects of alcohol-affected drivers on our roads.

Professor Johnston said the most satisfying aspect of his career has been working towards ensuring safer roads for all users.

“I feel very fortunate in being able to assist in saving lives and reducing injuries, as road crashes place an enormous burden on our society,” said Professor Johnston.

Professor Johnston continues to make a contribution to the reduction in death and serious injury on Australian roads through his active work as a member of the National Road Safety Council. 

For further information about the ARRB Hall of Fame please click here.

Media contact: Elizabeth Cannatelli, Communications Officer. Phone: (03) 9236 5049
or email: ecannatelli@ntc.gov.au

The NTC is an independent statutory body charged with improving the productivity, safety and environmental performance of Australia’s road, rail and intermodal transport system.

National Transport Commission
Level 15/628 Bourke Street Melbourne Vic 3000

For more details on Ian Johnston’s ARRB Hall of Fame biography please click here.